BILLBOARD CHARTS, OF ALL TIME, 1946-2023


author: ClaytonLBr
date: April 12th 2024
topic: billboard, music history, mathematics


my origin story of best artists of all time from billboard information as found on wikipedia.

Unlike wikipedia, I collected as many artists work from different places including their songs where they are featured into one place to tabulate a list that would afford me the ability to calculate and refine the list until I had a true best of all time list. The list in many ways is more like a best of all time from the top 50s instead of top 100s because my list had to remove imaginary numbers that came from artists low rated work from the back 9 of the billboard charts hit list.

Look at this way, anyway you manipulate the data, either way if you include or not the last 50 tracks of every year, Justin Bieber seems to always be where he is on every list. He’s an unmovable object at this point. The numerical values were not something I manipulated in anyway and came directly from the data.

Based on my calculations, no offense, Kenny Chesney is last place of all artists in the history of Billboard Charts. That doesn’t mean he doesn’t have a lot of hits and those hit translating into real world success. I mean form a mathematical argument. I don’t really like being barefoot and I don’t like barefoot nation and I don’t like barefoot speakers, but then again, maybe neither does anyone else.

Country music is the weakest genre on Billboard universally losing and having the hardest time reaching the top 10 charts. Morgan Wallen has done something that almost no other country artists have been able to do. My conspiracy theory is this; the real reason Beyonce is selling country right now is because Morgan Wallen has broken into the top 10 with country music. Last year and the year before Morgan Wallen had numerous successes on billboard an unheard of thing to do as a country artist. From this, my conspiracy is that the industry of R&B music and pop adult contemporary is so afraid the the USA and quite possibly the world is going to begin to veer in favor of country music, country artists beyond Morgan Wallen, they set up their biggest star Beyonce to push the narrative and propaganda to get people to fall back to the way things have always been with R&B and pop music dominating the billboard charts. As a matter of fact I don’t see Beyonce doing this work of hers right now and her country outfit being genuine in any way shape or form. She is doing what any successful artist would do that wants to retake the crown of top recordings. Taylor Swift and Miley Cyrus left country music knowing there would be better opportunities for success if hey left country and went to the other side of the music industry where all the other successful artists usually come from. This situation with Beyonce is no different. She is seeing how much success is coming from country music and is trying to steal the moonshine away from the potential future success of Morgan Wallen and other country artists.

If you must know, I don’t like country music, I think some country girls are hot but I don’t physically like the music or the culture necessarily. Yes I’m an American but I’m not that kind of American. I like dance music and I like some rock music but for the most part I really don’t like the American Music Industry of any genre as a matter of fact. The Chainsmokers are said to be EDM music culture. I don’t like them at all and when I’ve listened to their music more recently to see if the most famous DJ music from the pop charts is actually EDM music I would disagree and state that most famous DJ producers do not make EDM or dance music and instead they are just pop music producers. Calvin Harris, David Guetta, Zedd, Martin Garrix, Marshmello, The Chainsmokers, and anyone I forgot to mention that claims to be from the DJ EDM side of music culture also with famous hits on billboard almost always have hits but not with the songs that are dance songs. David Guetta has a number of hits but not with the song “Who’s that chick,” featuring Rihanna one of his most danceable tracks. Also, his track “Dangerous,” is to me a very EDM worthy track and it’s also not on the billboard charts. Calvin Harris has a track where he features a TB-303 acid synth by Roland and that track is not a billboard success. It’s not that these “DJs” are not capable of making dance music, it’s the fact that when they do have hits they are playing background music that is of slow tempo and features very little drum beat all while featuring very famous and well known singers were have very loud vocals. If it were not for all those famous singers these djs would not have those hits in addition to how the song is produced using a cliche format that veers so far from EDM and dance music it these tracks should not be considered EDM or dance music. They are simply pop songs for pop music fans of pop culture on the billboard pop music charts.

I listened to all the hits of all the most well known DJs from billboard to actually listen to their songs that were hits and each time I didn’t feel like I was listening to dance music all except for a few songs. Calvin Harris had one, David Guetta had one, Zedd had one. I don’t recall Marshmello having a one and definetly not The Chainsmokers. They may be the most successful dance music act of all time but the problem with that is that they are not Djs they are pop music producers that make boring ass lame music for kids that worship abercrombie and fitch summers that all of them [fans as listeners] are never going to have.

I wrote a big report from my analysis of dance music which I posted to reddit and the post was immediately blocked and my account was said to be banned most likely because I included multiple 90s black artist groups that I believe should be associated with dance music culture and not rap music. Secondly, my post might’ve been blocked from my conversation on the topic of Avicii and how his music is not EDM or dance music and is big Christian pop music, not fun to listen to in my opinion. Thirdly, I added the track by Estelle featuring Kanye West as a track that should be considered apart of dance music because the track was originally produced by will.i.am who is on the list of EDM artists in my view of history as a solo recording producer and that track that I know well and way before the track by estelle is an excellent instrumental from an album I once owned that was originally done by will.i.am for a movie soundtrack. The song was then used to add vocals by Estelle and featured Kanye West. By mentioning Ye West I think I might’ve been banned by the A.I. for mentioning him. I had no way to report this to Reddit and when I tried to I couldn’t figure out how to get them to unblock my post.

I added these famous songs from 90s history but after listening to some of them I concluded the 69s boyz track “tootsee roll,” is not a dance track and is merely a hip hop rap song. Something you may not realize is how will.i.am’s songs are often times more EDM and more dance than any of the famous pop DJs that are always associated with dance music culture. For that I commend will.i.am and recall my fandom of his work back in 2002-2003 before he joined forces with Fergie at which point I stopped being a fan. After that time and multiple works of the band The Black Eyed Peas that I once was a fan of only to stop being a fan because of the pop sensation that had become and how their music was being associated with groups of people that would primarily not associate with me when I was in high school I had no choice but to stop listening to the band. When will.i.am went solo I was at first bothered that his music went all techno and though who is he trying to fool he’s no dance artist being all high tech and funky. For some reason though this past week when I was listening to him I realized I was all wrong about what kind of music and person he’s been for the last years since leaving the black eyed peas for a solo career. He’s the kind of artist in pop culture I can appreciate and respect unlike all those really famous DJs that take themselves and their religion influence over their music worship too serious to make fun tunes and have experiments in song design that lead to really simple grooves without being redundant. When I think of the times I’ve seen will.i.am in the studio from video footage showing his desk if I were in his shoes I would be of the state of mind of wondering if I would ever be able to come up with another cool song since he had forced himself to get to a point where his music was so simple and so successful making another success story becomes increasingly difficult each time. I can relate to this without the physical world relating back to me.

Black recording artists are often not associated with modern dance music or EDM. When success of EDM is mentioned they don’t consider will.i.am. Black artists are almost always associated with R&B or hip hop/rap music. Technotronic and C+C music factory are some of the earliest dance music I ever remember hearing that inspired me to involve my listening with a direct connection to dance music from the radio. Those groups mostly pre date the majority of dance styles of the underground 90s dance music culture. Music from Italy, England, Belgium, France, The Netherlands, Germany, etc., in history often understate the influence of popular dance music on billboard during the 90s which is primarily black artists. Yes there are many hits of underground success but when speaking about the most popular music in the world potentially because of being on billboard and the hot 100 of USA it is not fair to understate the important characteristic influence these early groups may have had. They were not European and they were not white but they did make dance music. Since that time I’ve seen the music industry almost always associate all black artists no matter what kind of music as being black music instead of some of the black music being R&B and some of it being dance music and some of it being adult contemporary and some whatever else. I wrote this kind of a thing on reddit and got banned because reddit is a place for white racism and reddit is a place that keeps pushing the agenda that black artists would never be simply EDM. It’s very rarely that a electronic music producer is black but if there is one why can’t they be associated with the genre respectfully. Black Coffee is a good example of one of the best DJs in the world and he’s black, so what. It’s like because he’s black he must not be recognized as being EDM. Then the whole world goes copying people by the names of; DJ Snake, Major Lazer, Skrillex, Zedd, Calvin Harris, Martin Garris, Tiesto, Diplo, and so on in such a way that I don’t know if you noticed but none of those people are black except the guy that does the vocals from Major Lazer and no one even knows what that guy looks like because people basically associate major lazer as a pseudonym of Diplo therefore those names are interchangeable with one white guy. Carl Cox is black, he’s British, so they [the industry of edm] love promoting him because he’s British; he’s not very good at songwriting, his dj technique is old fashioned and his mixing is kind of sloppy. There’s two other guys I can think [ a guy named gerald] of that are black but one is from the way past, not to mention many other detroit techno black guys, … wouldn’t that be odd to be able to search on youtube black dj at pool party to find this? There should be room in American music to associate black artists with more than black culturally accepted art forms of music. Beyonce being in country music is out of the ordinary and most likely unnatural at this point in her career based on all her work that pre-dates right now. If she wants to do it so be it but that doesn’t mean I or anyone else has to buy into it.

While I was in the store today I had to hear Imagine Dragons yelling at me with a terrible singing voice. Sounds like my father when he gets upset which is a lot of the time, all the time. Then the walmart radio played flock of seagulls, you know the song. Horrible when in a fantasy the world would be playing electronic music. You know I’ve never heard electronic music in a business ever in my life. The closest I ever got was hearing pop trance music in abercrombie and fitch back before they changed let in the black guys and started wearing shirts in the stores. How come the girls got to see guys with their shirts off but guys never got see girls in thongs or whatever? American girls are about as dick hungry as Norway looks, know what I mean Chess? But when it comes to the freedom to see girls in the real world there’s nothing. If you want to see girls you have to see them on tv, in the movies, on the computer. On the other hand girls see guys everywhere they go, standing outside, doing construction, fixing light poles, tire shops, homeless guys, police officers, literally everywhere all the time always guys outside on the streets, in business, etc.. Living in Utah is lame. There are too many old people here. Most people regardless of their age act like old boring people. Most people here are fat. They dress boring. The younger people are taught to act older than they really are so they are also very uptight and boring. Utah is the most prude place in USA. Culture in Utah revolves around the idea of pushing the agenda that the black slacks and white button t-shirt guy should get everything he wants in pleasure and wealth and with no effort because he’s lazy. People here are talentless, skilless, copycats of social media and entertainment, leading to a very boring town when in the real world. The town is boring, the people are boring, and on any day at any time there are always old people lurking everywhere making things that much more boring. There are no voices here. These people are such big copycats and have such bad control over their vocal dynamics this place while shopping in the store is a super duper lame town of voiceless weirdos that stare too much with giant eyes for looking because that’s all they do. Plus, there’s a huge presence of absurdly cocky hispanic people apparently living the good life, never speaking english, being the most common minority, and based on the fact that mormons have no personality and the most boring people that hate fun, hate pleasure, hate love, and hate society, the hispanic people seem to be having the greatest time of their life while in Utah. I hate this place. I thought Spokane, WA was lame but after living in Utah for so many years being depraved of life, liberty and freedom I realize now Spokane is a wonderfully expressive place compared to the most stoic and old Utah.


© 2024 music office blot

To comment or not to comment,.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.